Mom’s Famous Chocolate Chip Cookies

When it comes to the kitchen, one of my fondest memories as a child was the smell of my mom’s chocolate chip cookies. The aroma would fill my two-story house from wall to wall. The sweet scent of vanilla mixed with a gentle touch of chocolate always left my mouth watering. I can remember waiting for my mom to leave the kitchen so I could run in and dip my finger into the cookie dough and have a taste. I was caught cookie-dough handed on more than one occasion, but boy was it worth it.

The best part, after the cookies themselves, was fighting my siblings on who got to lick off which utensil. The best was the bowl, with the sweet dough stuck to all the sides and remnants of chocolate chips mixed in. The next was the mixer. My mom would always leave some dough on it instead of scraping it all off. She spoiled us sometimes. And lastly was the spatula. It usually only took a few licks to make it sparkling clean, and never fulfilled the sugar craving that we all had.

Lucky for me today, my boyfriend is at work and my cat is fast asleep, so all the dough-covered utensils are mine.

0504161828
Deena, my cookie-loving kitty

Here’s hoping I don’t get salmonella, but if I do, it will be damn worth it.

 

0921161154.jpg
The original recipe

Before we get started, I recommend you don’t wear nice clothing. With the amount of flour, I guarantee you will get dirty. Cooking is much better in sweats and a t-shirt anyway.

Ingredients:

2 1/4 cups of unsifted all-purpose flour

0921161157
Ingredients

1 teaspoon of baking soda

1 cup of butter or margarine, softened

1/4 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup firmly packed light-brown sugar

1 teaspoon of vanilla

1 package (4-serving size) JELL-O Brand Vanilla Flavor INSTANT Pudding

Make sure to use JELL-O brand, other brands don’t taste as well.

2 eggs

1 package of chocolate chips

1 cup chopped nuts (optional)

 

Directions:

Set oven to 375 degrees

Mix flour and baking soda

0921161207
Flour Mixture and Wet Mixture

Combine butter, the sugars, vanilla, and pudding mix in a large mixer bowl; beat until smooth and creamy.

I am using a hand mixer because I am too poor to afford a regular mixer. I don’t recommend mixing by hand because you will not get the same results. You can purchase a hand mixer from Walmart for ~$7.00.

Beat in eggs

Gradually add flour mixture

This part is easier to do with two people, or a normal mixer, as I learned. I could smell the fact that I bought the cheapest hand-mixer Walmart had to offer. I could also feel it in my shoulder. I may or may not have had to take a break…

Add chocolate chips and nuts (batter will be stiff)

If you are using a hand mixer, I recommend hand stirring in the chips and nuts. It makes it easier on the mixer and will leave the chips whole.

Drop teaspoons of batter on an ungreased baking sheet about 2 inches apart

Bake for 8-10 minutes

I have found that I make the cookies bigger than a teaspoon because my stomach is bigger than Barbie’s and my appetite is bigger than Ken’s. In that case, it takes about 15 minutes to bake. Check in on them every 5 minutes or so.

0921161241
Before
0921161255
After

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This recipe is so simple, and it will make your taste buds jump for joy (and sugar.) The cookies are perfect with a cold glass of milk or a warm cup of coffee. I have found you can also substitute different types of JELL-O pudding for fun flavors, such as pumpkin, chocolate, or even pistachio.

While I was baking, I had a pumpkin-coconut candle burning and found that the smell of the cookies overpowered the that of the candle. It took me back to simpler times. I could see my mom walking around, rag draped over her shoulder, Days of Our Lives playing on our TV, and my brothers and I anxiously waiting for the timer to go off so we could get that fresh out-of-the-oven taste.

One comment

Leave a Reply

