Always Follow the Directions

Spaghetti Carbonara. Simple, right? Noodles, cheese, mushrooms, easy!

Not for me.

Tuesday night I attempted my mom’s Spaghetti Carbonara recipe. Notice I say attempted. I already had most of the ingredients, and who doesn’t love bacon and cheese? All I had to do was boil noodles, mix together butter and cheese, throw the veggies in and then add the eggs. 15 minutes and done, I got this. So I followed the directions and mixed everything together and-clumpy?-the cheese and veggies weren’t mixing with the butter. The eggs were getting clumped up with the cheese. Ugh. So I ate clumpy carbonara, and my boyfriend swears it was good.

I know he’s lying.

Turns out, when the directions say to slowly pour egg yolks into the mixture, they mean slowly. I completely overpassed this part of the directions, and in turn I had an omelet with noodles in it covered in butter. It’s the second week in and I’m already screwing up my mom’s recipes.

Aren’t you proud?

 

 

0927161735

0927161735a
Featuring my mom’s perfect handwriting

Ingredients:

8 oz. thing spaghetti

1/2 lb. sliced bacon, 1′ pieces

2/3 cup chip green onions

1 can 4 oz. mushrooms

1/4 cup margarine

4 oz. cheddar cheese

salt

pepper

3 egg yolks-slightly beaten

 


Directions:
0927161722

Cook spaghetti, drain, keep warm

Cook bacon and drain

Saute onions, mushrooms 2 minutes

Remove, set aside with bacon

Melt butter in same skillet

Add everything else but egg yolks, then egg yolks, little at a time

Toss and serve

Leave a Reply

