Creamy Lemon Sherbet

One of my mom’s best qualities was how kind and caring she was. Everyone that came into contact with her knew that she was a genuinely good person. She was always turning people’s frowns into laughs and smiles. It was a unique gift that she had.

My dad was lucky enough to be the man to marry her. Their marriage was something I always looked up to, something I base my current relationship off of. They both were always there to support each other, in good times and bad times, sickness and in health.

One thing about my dad is that he loves sweets. Every time I come home from school my sweet tooth grows a couple of sizes, and it is never disappointed. Two of my dad’s favorite sweets are ice cream and sherbet. There is always a container of some sort of frozen treat in my freezer (and it’s usually half empty.) My mom was always making him sweets–cookies, brownies and sometimes even sherbet.

This week I made Creamy Lemon Sherbet. I wasn’t expecting much from this four ingredient recipe, but to my surprise, it was so yummy.

Even though there is only a few ingredients, they go together so well. It took me a while to figure out what the taste reminded me of-key lime pie. Even though it was with lemon juice, it tasted like frozen key lime pie. It takes me back to this past summer’s trip to Clearwater, Florida where my boyfriend and I got a fresh key lime pie. Sitting on the white-sand beach, watching the sunset and snacking on some key lime pie was the highlight of my summer.

 

Ingredients:

1 cup sugar

2 cups (1 pint) whipping cream0927161751.jpg

1 cup lemon juice

Few drops of yellow food coloring (optional)

Directions:

Combine sugar and cream in a medium bowl

Stir until dissolved

Stir in lemon juice and food coloring

Pour into 8-inch pan or into sherbet dishes

Freeze 3 hours or until firm

Remove from freezer 5 minutes before serving

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

